Are you Free? No, Really? Think About It

On July 4th we will rejoice in celebration to commemorate our countries’ declaration of independence from Great Britian and King George III.   160 years later and the celebrations are still going strong, but I challenge you to take a moment today to reflect upon the reasons why we celebrate…. the freedom from oppression….. that all men are created equal and our unalienable rights; life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness.

On July 4, 2012….Are you free?  No, really…think about it!  In many ways we are still fighting…we may not be escaping oppression from another government, but we are still fighting…fighting for justice ( for Trayvon Martin), life ( the right to choose),  liberty (freedom from the oppressors of life; a job rather than a career, overwhelming debit, sickness without access to quality health care) and the pursuit of happiness (existing yet never truly living life).

Today it’s all about the barbecue and the fireworks, but at some point when you manage to get a quiet moment….. reflect on the significance of the celebration and then ask yourself, ” Am I Free”?

I am just saying…..Join the blabb chat or follow me on twitter @Blabback

6 comments on “Are you Free? No, Really? Think About It

  1. […] Are you Free? No, Really? Think About It (blabbinoutloud.com) […]

  2. Who would have thought that we’d be fighting the same battles for civil rights, for women’s rights, for personal freedoms that we fought way back in the 60s and 70s? When I think about how far we have to go, I have to remind myself of the joy I felt and the tears I cried listening to President Barack Obama give his acceptance speech. I was never so proud of being American, never so hopeful for our country as I was that day when we elected a good man to be our first black president.

  3. […] I’m Just Sayin’: Are you Free? No, Really? Think About It […]

  4. […] I’m Just Sayin’: Are you Free? No, Really? Think About It […]

Blabb Back

